Christmas & New Year bin collections

Written by on December 27, 2017

Changes to bin collections over Christmas & New Year.

From 25th December, your household collection days will change. They will return to normal from Monday 15 January. This is partly due to the fact that Christmas and New Year both fall on a Monday, but also because KCC-operated waste transfer sites will not be open at weekends over the festive season.

Christmas/New Year bin collection timetable:

If your collection day is… It will be collected on…
Monday 25 December 2017 Wednesday 27 December 2017
Tuesday 26 December 2017 Thursday 28 December 2017
Wednesday 27 December 2017 Friday 29 December 2017
Thursday 28 December 2017 Saturday 30 December 2017
Friday 29 December 2017 Tuesday 2 January 2018
Monday 1 January 2018 Wednesday 3 January 2018
Tuesday 2 January 2018 Thursday 4 January 2018
Wednesday 3 January 2018 Friday 5 January 2018
Thursday 4 January 2018 Saturday 6 January 2018
Friday 5 January 2018 Monday 8 January 2018
Monday 8 January 2018 Tuesday 9 January 2018
Tuesday 9 January 2018 Wednesday 10 January 2018
Wednesday 10 January 2018 Thursday 11 January 2018
Thursday 11 January 2018 Friday 12 January 2018
Friday 12 January 2018 Saturday 13 January 2018

Remember cardboard gift boxes can be recycled, and so can lots of wrapping paper: to check which bin to put your gift wrap in, scrunch a handful of it into a ball. If it stays scrunched after you open your hand, it can go in your blue recycling bin or clear recycling sacks. If it comes unscrunched, it needs to go in your green refuse bin.

Don’t forget to recycle empty bottles and cans from your celebrations, and to put any leftover sprouts in your food waste bin!

Make sure these items do not go in your blue bin:
Black sacks, polystyrene or ‘bubble wrap’,  light bulbs, Pyrex,  food waste,  panes of glass or drinking glasses, garden waste,  electrical items,  textiles, clothes and shoes.

 


Current track
Title
Artist

%d bloggers like this: